WEST DOWN PARISH COUNCIL

Parish Clerk: Mrs Val Ford

10 Berrynarbor Park, Sterridge Valley, Devon, EX34 9TA.

Email@ clerk@westdownparishcouncil.co.uk

Telephone: 07852 627967



CO-OPTION ONTO PARISH COUNCIL

The Parish Council comprises of up to 8 Councillors. Following the Local Elections there are now two vacancies for co-option onto the Parish Council. We are a friendly, active Parish Council and would you welcome you joining us to do the best for the residents of West Down.

Apply by writing a short letter to the Parish Council Chairman via the Clerk at 10 Berrynarbor Park, Sterridge Valley, Berrynarbor, Devon, EX34 9TA giving the reasons why you would like to be co-opted onto the Council. For more information about becoming a Parish Councillor, please speak to an existing Parish Councillor or the Parish Clerk. Thank you.

Qualifications for Candidates

To be qualified to be elected a member of a parish council, a person must be 21 years of age or over, and a British subject or citizen of the Republic of Ireland, and either:-

- (i) be a local government elector of the parish, or
- (ii) have during the whole of the twelve months preceding the day on which he/she is nominated as a candidate occupied as owner or tenant any land or other premises in the parish, or
- (iii) his/her principal or only place of work in the twelve months preceding the day on which he/she is nominated as a candidate have been in the area of the parish; or
- (iv) have resided either in the parish or within 3 miles thereof during the whole of the 12 months preceding the day on which he/she is nominated as a candidate.

There are certain disqualifications for election, of which the main are:-

- a) holding a paid office under the local authority.
- b) bankruptcy.
- c) having been sentenced to a term of imprisonment (whether suspended or not) of not less than three months, without the option of a fine during the five years preceding the election; and
- d) Being disqualified under any enactment relating to corrupt or illegal practices.

Parish Councillors

Chair: Sue Ayre, Vice-Chair: Mike Reeves
Cllrs. Richard Kensole, Hannah Knight, Sue Squire and Tony Verney